Ms aposiOpesis

Ms O's troupe of tangents, affair of asides, multitude of meanderings, bevy of blatherings.

Dear Mr. Governor

| 1 Comment

As an addendum to yesterday’s blog, a communication I sent to Governor Pawlenty, R-MN, this afternoon, via his website:

Dear Mr. Governor:

I’m writing to let you know that your continued vetoing of statewide health insurance for Minnesota’s teachers, and your general non-support for Minnesota teachers and education, is forcing me to choose between continuing to teach or putting my life at risk without health coverage.

I live in outstate Minnesota (Marshall), and I teach in a small district.  My health insurance currently costs me over $500/month (after my district’s contribution) for individual coverage.

I’ve recently married, and my husband is without insurance.  To put him on my policy, I would be paying $1230/month–out of pocket.

Before we ever saw a doctor.

Worse, our rates are going to increase in July by at least 20%.  I will be paying just under $1500/month for insurance for the two of us–and I only make $28,000 (2008 W-2) to begin with (and my husband makes less than $15,000 a year at the same district, without any benefits, as a paraprofessional).

We cannot live like this.  And I blame you.  We Minnesota teachers have tried, repeatedly, to pool our insurance resources, only to be thwarted by you and/or the Legislature time and again.  This past year’s veto was absolutely a kick in the teeth for each one of us.

We are already pooling through our local service cooperative, and I had to laugh, bitterly, at your recent call for all districts to pool for resources—you only call for that until it comes to statewide insurance.  That, you will not LET us pool!

My income will not increase for next year, but my insurance will—dramatically.  I have two college degrees and seven years experience as a teacher who regularly works ten-, twelve-, and fourteen-hour days.

I deserve to be able to keep my job and get health care and I shouldn’t have to choose between them.

Shame on you.

–Karla Olson
Marshall, MN

Right now, I’m unsure what to do.  I have pre-existing conditions that would make it impossible to find alternative insurance for me.  This also means I cannot go without coverage.

Oy.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar