Ms aposiOpesis

Ms O's troupe of tangents, affair of asides, multitude of meanderings, bevy of blatherings.

Vikings of Verbosity

| 3 Comments

I’m in my Creative Writing club right now.  Yep, the Vikings of Verbosity. Student writing group, centered around a Ning and a few die-hard students who I fully expect to see published one day (and I’ll be waiting for my free, first-edition copies of their books, as well).  Today, it’s Theo, Evan, and me, working on figures of speech and attempting to use the word “noggin” somewhere in our writing (and no, I won’t count that…)

We’re hanging out in the upstairs lab of the high school, trading Monty Python lines and acting out scenes from Star Wars.  Because, well, we’re also geeks.  At least the three of us here right now are.

We wave our geek flags proudly.  (Wedge Antilles is the only pilot to make it through the first SW trilogy…)  That sort of thing.

I’m incredibly humbled–and wowed–but what these kids can do, and write. And here, I don’t have to grade them, or assess them in any way other than to enjoy the writing (and laugh at the jokes, especially if it’s Theo’s stuff).

It’s nice to just hang out and write together.  We’ll be participating in NaNoWriMo this year for the third time (Rachel finished her book the first year!), and I’ll put up a poster outside my room with our word totals during November. We’ll wrack our noggins (there it is, for real this time) to come up with ideas to further our novels, and laugh a lot.

So…this is the non-education part of education.  I LOVE it.

And I can’t wait to see these kids’ names on a book jacket one day…

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar